Jacques Henri Lartigue – 100 pictures for the Freedom of the Press

04.03.21

For nearly thirty years, Reporters Without Borders has been honoring the most outstanding photographers of the 20th century. It is only natural that Jacques Henri Lartigue and his iconic and joyful images today find their place alongside those of Cartier-Bresson, Doisneau and all the others. An ode to the joy of living!

Surrounded by those he loved, the sparkling Jacques Henri Lartigue photographed his whole life to “stuff happiness” with simplicity, gaiety and the stubborn will to look at life and the world from the sunny side. When he shoots, it is to fix the beautiful, instantly and forever.
The portfolio of the new RSF album will unfold the very long and prolific career of a photographer born in 1894 and who will never cease to be so, from childhood to the present until his death in 1986. Lartigue immortalized everything that appealed to his eye, from the incipient exploits of the automobile and aviation to the toilets of the elegant women of the Bois de Boulogne, from the stagings of his wives and muses to the games of the sports bodies on the beaches, accumulating over time thousands of fragments of happiness. A life of beauty and apparent carelessness to which Reporters Without Borders has chosen to pay tribute.

With the unpublished contributions of:
Sophie Fontanel – Hélène Orain – Jean-Marie Périer – Charlotte Rampling – Sabine Weiss

Photo credits

©  Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Ministère de la Culture – France / AAJHL

Informations

Reporters sans frontières

9,90€

rsf.org

Contacts

Marie René de La Guillonnière
rsf@2e-bureau.com
+33 1 42 33 93 18

Download

Press Pictures

Dossier de presse (pdf, in French only)

Jacques Henri Lartigue – 100 photos pour la liberté de la presse

04.03.21

Depuis bientôt trente ans, Reporters sans frontières met à l’honneur les photographes les plus marquants du XXe siècle. C’est tout naturellement que Jacques Henri Lartigue et ses images iconiques et joyeuses trouvent aujourd’hui leur place aux côtés de celles de Cartier-Bresson, Doisneau et tous les autres. Une ode à la joie de vivre !

Entouré de celles et ceux qu’il aimait, le pétillant Jacques Henri Lartigue a toute sa vie, photographié pour « empailler le bonheur », avec simplicité, gaieté et la volonté obstinée de regarder la vie et le monde côté soleil. Quand il déclenche, c’est pour fixer le beau, instantanément et à jamais.
Le portfolio du nouvel album RSF déroulera la très longue et prolifique carrière d’un photographe né en 1894 et qui ne cessera jamais de l’être, de l’enfance jusqu’à sa mort en 1986. Lartigue a immortalisé tout ce qui plaisait à son oeil, des exploits balbutiants de l’automobile et de l’aviation aux toilettes des élégantes du bois de Boulogne, des mises en scène de ses femmes et muses aux jeux des corps sportifs sur les plages, accumulant au fil du temps des milliers de fragments de bonheur. Une vie de beauté et d’apparente insouciance à laquelle Reporters sans frontières a choisi de rendre hommage.

Avec les contributions inédites de :
Sophie Fontanel – Hélène Orain – Jean-Marie Périer – Charlotte Rampling – Sabine Weiss

Crédits photos

©  Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Ministère de la Culture – France / AAJHL

Informations

Reporters sans frontières

9,90€

rsf.org

Contacts

Marie René de La Guillonnière
rsf@2e-bureau.com
+33 1 42 33 93 18

Téléchargements

Visuels presse

Dossier de presse (pdf)