Azzedine Alaïa – Peter Lindbergh

Paris ·

20.05.21 → 02.01.22

On the occasion of the first exhibition of the year 2021, the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation is pleased to celebrate two talents who have written a page in the history of photography and fashion.
The works of Peter Lindbergh and those of Azzedine Alaïa are brought together and converse in a community of spirit that has never wavered.
Like the artistic encounters that united Richard Avedon and Christian Dior or Yves Saint Laurent and Helmut Newton, Peter Lindbergh and Azzedine Alaïa have found a common territory where each of their expressions is the re and the other.
Without saying a word, the photographer and the couturier found themselves in love with black, which they cultivate equally in silver prints or clothing. Lindbergh never stops calling black and white to signify his search for authenticity in the faces he brings to light. Alaïa draws from the monochrome of timeless clothes, real sculptures for the body.
Each one of them then finds this impression of poetic realism which magnifies the personalities before satisfying their creative ambition. Although from opposite geographies, Lindbergh and Alaïa have cultivated close horizons.
Originally from Duisburg, a city in Germany that looks out over the Netherlands without difficulty, Peter Lindbergh was trained at the Krefeld School of Applied Arts. The School of Azzedine Alaïa is that of Fine Arts in the Department of Sculpture in Tunis where the couturier grew up. The whitewashed facades that reflect the deep shadows of passers-by have accompanied Alaïa’s Tunisia. The architectures that Duisburg, an industrial and commercial city, possesses, serve as a setting for the photographer as much as the Dutch beaches he frequents. Both share the taste for the great horizons whether they are of the Mediterranean or the North, where sometimes the use of flat blacks dialogue in complicity. While Lindbergh made a reputation in Germany, notably thanks to Stern magazine, and then set up his studio in Paris in 1978, Alaïa is a couturier full of discretion whose sophisticated techniques are secretly exchanged between major haute couture clients. Soon, this German boy in love with noble photography and this young man of Tunisian origin with lightning scissors will write the most beautiful chapters of Parisian and French fashion.

under the direction of Benjamin Lindbergh and Olivier Saillard
With the support of the Peter Lindbergh Foundation

Photo credits

Azzedine Alaïa & Linda Spierings, Le Touquet, 1986 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Tatjana Patitz & Linda Spierings, Le Touquet, 1986 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Marie-Sophie Wilson, Paris, 1988 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Azzedine Alaïa & Tina Turner, Paris, 1989 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Photo en Une : Peter Lindbergh, Kristen McMenamy & Azzedine Alaïa, Paris, 1995 (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Informations

Galerie Azzedine Alaïa
18 rue de la Verrerie
75004 Paris

fondationazzedinealaia.org

Open every day from
11 am to 7 pm
Tickets: 7€
Concession: 2€
Métro : Hôtel de Ville

Contacts

Sylvie Grumbach
Marie-Laure Girardon – +33 6 82 40 73 27
alaia@2e-bureau.com
+33 1 42 33 93 18

Download

Press Pictures

Press Kit (pdf)

Azzedine Alaïa – Peter Lindbergh

Paris ·

A l’occasion de la première exposition de l’année 2021, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa est heureuse de célébrer deux talents qui ont écrit une page de l’histoire de la photographie et de la mode.
Les œuvres de Peter Lindbergh et celles d’Azzedine Alaïa sont réunies et conversent dans une communauté d’esprit qui n’a jamais faibli.
Comme des rencontres artistiques qui ont soudé Richard Avedon et Christian Dior ou encore Yves Saint Laurent et Helmut Newton, Peter Lindbergh et Azzedine Alaïa ont trouvé un territoire commun où chacune de leur expression se veut le re et de l’autre.
Sans mot dire, le photographe et le couturier se sont retrouvés dans l’affection pour le noir qu’ils cultivent de manière égale en tirages argentiques ou en aplats vestimentaires. Lindbergh ne cesse d’appeler le noir et le blanc pour signifier sa recherche d’authenticité des visages qu’il met en lumière. Alaïa puise dans le monochrome des vêtements intemporels, véritables sculptures pour le corps.
Chacun d’eux trouve alors cette impression de réalisme poétique qui magnifie les personnalités avant de satisfaire leur ambition créative. Bien que de géographies opposées, Lindbergh et Alaïa ont cultivé des horizons proches.
Originaire de Duisbourg, une ville située en Allemagne qui regarde sans peine les Pays Bas, Peter Lindbergh a été formé à l’École d’Arts Appliqués de Krefeld. L’École d’Azzedine Alaïa est celle des Beaux-Arts au département des sculptures à Tunis où le couturier a grandi. Les façades blanchies à la chaux qui renvoient les ombres profondes de passants ont accompagné la Tunisie d’Alaïa. Les architectures que Duisbourg, ville industrielle et commerciale possède, servent de cadre au photographe autant que les plages néerlandaises qu’il fréquente. Tous deux partagent le goût pour les grands horizons qu’ils soient de méditerranée ou du Nord, où parfois l’usage des noirs en aplats dialoguent en complicité. Alors que Lindbergh se fait une réputation en Allemagne notamment grâce au magazine Stern, puis installe son studio à Paris en 1978, Alaïa est ce couturier pétri de discrétion dont les techniques sophistiquées s’échangent secrètement entre grandes clientes de haute couture. Bientôt ce garçon allemand épris de photographie noble et ce jeune homme d’origine tunisienne aux ciseaux éclairs écriront les plus beaux chapitres de la mode parisienne et française.

sous la direction de Benjamin Lindbergh et Olivier Saillard
Avec le soutien de la Fondation Peter Lindbergh

Crédits photos

Azzedine Alaïa & Linda Spierings, Le Touquet, 1986 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Tatjana Patitz & Linda Spierings, Le Touquet, 1986 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Marie-Sophie Wilson, Paris, 1988 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Azzedine Alaïa & Tina Turner, Paris, 1989 © Peter Lindbergh (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Photo en Une : Peter Lindbergh, Kristen McMenamy & Azzedine Alaïa, Paris, 1995 (courtesy Peter Lindbergh Foundation, Paris)

Informations

Galerie Azzedine Alaïa
18 rue de la Verrerie
75004 Paris

fondationazzedinealaia.org

Ouvert tous les jours de 11h à 19h
Tarifs : 7€
Tarifs réduits : 2€
Métro : Hôtel de Ville

Contacts

Sylvie Grumbach
Marie-Laure Girardon
alaia@2e-bureau.com
+33 1 42 33 93 18

Téléchargements

Visuels presse

Dossier de presse (pdf)